Welcome, Wacom

digital coloring, digital drawing

I had to get a graphics tablet for my drawing class, since we’ll be switching back and forth between drawing on paper and drawing on the computer. Thanks to a bit of financial aid money, I was able to pick up a nice Wacom Intuos4 tablet. It turned out to be a great investment. I didn’t know what to expect, but the results of my first few sketches with this thing are encouraging.

I’m really impressed with how well it expresses line quality. The surface has over two thousand layers of pressure sensitivity, so between that and the brush settings in Photoshop, the ability to replicate real ink lines is amazing.

Another thing that’s great about this is that I no longer have to rely solely on my scanner to upload drawings to the computer. In other words, I can cut out the middle man and input my animation exercises straight into the computer and test the results much more quickly.

Color me GIDDY.

Leave a Reply

