October Horrorfest 2010

film, home life

About two (or three?) years ago, I started a tradition that I’m hoping to continue forever. It’s very simple.

Every October, Lori and I (and whoever else wants to join in) watch *ONLY horror movies for the entire month. Good ones, bad ones, funny ones, disturbing ones, it all goes in the pile. We watch as many as we can fit in a month. Last year was pretty crazy for us, so we didn’t get to do as many as we wanted. Hopefully, this year we’ll manage a bit better.

Here’s what’s on the docket this year:

CLASSICS WE ALREADY LOVE

The Thing
Evil Dead II
Slither
The Orphanage
The Shining
Shaun of the Dead
The Exorcist / Exorcist III

FIRST-TIMERS

The Brood
Scanners
The Changeling
Zombie (dir. Lucio Fulci)
Martin (George Romero’s vampire flick)
[REC]
Zombieland
The Blob (1988)
Bad Taste
Dead Alive
Let Sleeping Corpses Lie
Cemetery Man
The Kingdom (Danish television series)
Phantasm
Waxwork / Waxwork II
Nosferatu the Vampyre
The Strangers
Arachnaphobia
The Haunting (1963)
Dead Snow

… and more. I know I’m forgetting some. We try to cast a wide net, all the better to catch some good ones we wouldn’t have seen otherwise.

Tonight, after my Mom’s art show, it shall begin.

* This month I will be making one teeny tiny exception to the rule. The Social Network comes out today and there’s no way I’m waiting a month to see it. I made the rule, therefore I can bend the rule.

4 thoughts on “October Horrorfest 2010

  1. Don’t forget “Oldboy” and “The Birds”! If possible, I’d like to request my attendance for the aforementioned two, as well as Zombieland. I plan on watching “Shaun of the Dead”, as well, which I’ve yet to see from start to finish in its entirety (still on a high from “Scott Pilgrim”, so I’m super jazzed about that one).

    Oh, “Let Me In” needs to go on your list too, if I’m not mistaken.

  2. Oh you fucking know there is a big, glaring omission on that list, Eckert. It’s crawling around the icky parts of your backbrain as you read this.

    I demand you face your fears!

  3. Jeff, as you already know, you’re in!

    David, I feel like I’m standing on a diving board and you’re taunting me from the icy waters. I’ll jump in when I’m damn well ready! haha

    Just… just give me a minute…

    I’m looking forward to seeing Scanners for the first time. It’s been on the list for years but I never seem to get to it.

Leave a comment