Geek Zodiac and other updates

friends' work, poster designs

My good friend James Wright came up with this very cool, very fun, and very smartly put together alternate zodiac – the aptly named GEEK ZODIAC. When he first sent me the link, I was utterly compelled to put together a nice, clean version that would make it more palatable for mass consumption. So far it seems to be catching on (in places like Geek Tyrant, Blastr, and Nerd Bastards).

The next step is to design the poster and, potentially, t-shirt versions! So stay tuned. I’m trying to crank out these designs as quickly as possible so we can make something more official available.

In other news, I let my website go. It was getting too expensive for me to keep it live and, honestly, having looked at other artists who are going into similar fields, I’m noticing that having a website isn’t too crucial. So I’m sprucing up this place and I’m going to make it my one-stop shop. That’s why you’ll find the current incarnation of my flat art portfolio to the right under the Pages section. Check it out, leave me some feedback if you want. Since I wasn’t able to attend the latest SIGGRAPH portfolio review, I’ll need some help shaping mine up.

Also, this happened a couple weeks ago, but it’s still very notable. Two of my posters were accepted into the coolest online movie poster gallery on the web – Reelizer.com. My stuff will be shown alongside work by some of my favorite illustrators and designers! People like Olly Moss, Daniel Danger, Tyler Stout, and a bunch of others I’m forgetting at the moment. I’m flattered to be in such esteemed company.

I’ve also been added to an online poster gallery that just started up last week: Alternative Movie Posters.com. Be sure to check out their collection, too. Quite a lot of inspiration to be found there.

This is very exciting stuff. I have posters for Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang in the pipeline right now. But they’ll be a bit delayed while I take care of some school work and try to send this Geek Zodiac thing to the next level.

4 thoughts on “Geek Zodiac and other updates

  1. Josh! Can’t thank you enough for the incredible Geek Zodiac design. I’ve been following it pretty steadily throughout the Internet and it’s getting mentioned a bit on Twitter–in English, Spanish, French AND Portuguese. And it’s even hit the French site for Gizmodo (http://www.gizmodo.fr/2011/04/10/de-quel-signe-du-zodiaque-geek-etes-vous.html)

    Also, on the original link on my blog I included a link to your Reelizer pieces, which was itself included when one of the geek-themed sites reposted it:

    http://www.bitrebels.com/lifestyle/geek-zodiac-version-2-0-the-only-horoscope-to-follow/

    If it keeps this momentum up, who knows? Maybe people will be talking about it at Comic Con.

  2. Whoa! This is awesome! I love seeing people respond so well to this.

    And that Bit Rebels article is great, but she said I made it! haha, It’s all you, man. All I did was put some pictures in a circle. 😉

    That said, I have some things to show you…

  3. Holy shit, congrats to you and James, man – the Geek Zodiac is amazing! And I HAVE been feeling rather clandestine lately…

    And yeah, I’m sure you already know, but it’s blowing up like CRAZY on Twitter right now – I think marketing and getting this out there ASAP is definitely a smart move. I could totally see sales for an official poster going through the roof…!

    Great job, and congrats again!

  4. Pingback: Teleleli

Leave a Reply

