Long. Overdue.

friends' work, goals

I feel like a year has passed since I last updated but it’s only been two months.

The days are just packed.

Here’s what I’m working on now:

1. Storyboards for a project helmed by my former animation teacher, Mr. John Ludwick. I had to sign a Non-Disclosure Agreement before I started work on it, so I cannot post anything about it here other than the fact that it is happening, it is challenging, and it is exciting!

2. Creatures Classified is still in the works. The project has been on a somewhat bumpy road from the latter half of the spring semester up to now but I’m sticking with it til it’s done, because it’s a great project that deserves to be fully realized, dagnabbit. I’m responsible for a bunch of creature illustrations as well as an actual playable level of the game, all of which will be completed before the end of next month. Actually my goal is July 15th, and I’m going on the record with that. Come to think of it, I have yet to do a blog post documenting the work I’ve done for this project. That will be up very soon.

3. James and I are developing a graphic novel using the Geek Zodiac as a template. If you’re having a hard time wrapping your head around that, just wait and see. Trust me, it’s cooler than you can imagine. My end of the project is on hold while I take care of the two above, but there’s already been some extensive character development and laying down of the plot and… well, you’ll just have to wait and see.

In related news, The Geek Zodiac Store is live! Them Geek Zodiac goodies make good gifts, don’t’cha know.

Which reminds me, I will be posting a bit of the process behind those designs. They really were a lot of fun to come up with and it’s been great seeing people’s response to them. James and I recorded an interview about the Geek Zodiac for a radio show called, Talk Nerdy to Me, last month. Click here to listen! Huge thanks to Emily Kelley for having us on her final show of the semester. It’s a shame I couldn’t hear James during the interview (they were only able to connect me to Emily) as I would’ve liked to riff back and forth with him about the whole thing, but I think we pulled it off nicely, regardless.

4. Here are some other things in the proverbial pipeline:

* building an animated production logo for my good friend Jeff Smith and his Bottoms Up Productions label. He just released another massive supercut in the hopes of outing one of the lamest and most overused lines in film history, “You Just Don’t Get It, Do You?” (commissioned by Film Drunk.com!) Before that he put together the hilarious “Glove, Actually: An Ode to Cinema’s Greatest Slaps.” He’s currently developing a short video that I’ll be starring in later this summer, so I’ll keep you posted on that as well.

* contributing character designs to a videogame being developed by my fellow New Media madmen, Joel Bergman and Dustin Ostrum. Looking forward to seeing how this develops!

* designing a cd cover for G-Ometry’s upcoming mixtape. G-Ometry consists of Indy hip hop producers, Mandog (Nick Smith) and Do-Re (Jonathan Williams) who you may remember from that Princibal Flash poster I did a while back. These guys are beasts. Check out their latest work as The Milky Way Vandals, too. My little brother, Jeremy, knocks out the first verse on Donmesswidus. I’m addicted to that one and Back to the Lab.

* designing movie posters. Somehow I’ll get around to finishing my Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang posters. Somehow… someday… In the meantime, be sure to check out Reelizer and AMP as much as possible.

Wow.

Hey, it’s not all work though. Lori and I are driving to North Carolina to visit some friends this Fourth of July weekend! Nothing like a nice relaxing road trip to clear your head.

Leave a Reply

