Wind from the North

digital drawing, pencil drawing, school

Wow! It has been a ridiculously long time since I’ve updated here. Life has been… tumultuous, to say the least. But it’s time to get things updated! And by “things” I mean, this blog, and most importantly, The Geek Zodiac.com! It’s been a much longer hiatus than James and I anticipated, but I’m building a back log of comic pages so we can stick to the Tuesday/Friday schedule for the duration of the series. Just you wait. We’re about to lift off! The Daikaiju’s intro will be ready to premiere very soon!

In the meantime, here’s an illustration I just “finished” (there’s plenty I want to change about this but due dates are due dates) for my illustration class at Herron. The assignment was to create a black and white image in the same vein as the ominous, whimsical, mysterious images from The Mysteries of Harris Burdick. We were given a prompt, a sentence that would inspire the image we’d come up with, and then we had to give it a title. The goal was to capture the imagination using all the elements – title, caption and image – in such a way that the viewer comes up with their own story in their head. Here’s hoping I pulled that off.

I’d like to do a quick process post that shows how I made this. It was a combination of traditional pencil techniques and digital painting, two methods I’ve never really combined before the way I did it here. I’m hoping to refine that process a bit more for the next illustration.

Leave a Reply

