Henri Riviere: Thirty-Six Views of the Eiffel Tower

inspiration

One of the other things I took away from that Snapshot: Painters and Photography exhibit, was a book of color lithographs recreating Henri Riviere’s 1902 lithograph series, Thirty-Six Views of the Eiffel Tower (which is a very direct homage to Katsushika Hokusai’s Thirty-Six Views of Mount Fuji). Every single one of these images is striking in some way. I get a charge of energy just staring at them. Compositionally, I just… I just want to feast on them. Like, literally, cut up the paper and eat it. I don’t know why that impulse comes to mind with things that inspire or excite me – the impulse to just devour them, but… anyway… here are some of my favorites. The top one, in particular I could stare at for hours. Something about that interplay of diagonal and horizontal lines, the placement of those funky chimneys. Your eye just dances around in it. It’s glorious.

 

I also love how the limited color scheme allows the composition of the image to shine over everything else. Kind of like how composition in cinematography really pops in black and white film. That’s definitely something to bring to my forever-in-flux illustration techniques for The Geek Zodiac: The Continuum. With that in mind, it’s no wonder that, visually, the Daikaiju comic tends to be a favorite (and is the one I’m most proud of).

One thought on “Henri Riviere: Thirty-Six Views of the Eiffel Tower

Leave a Reply

